The Vedas are the religious texts which inform the religion of Hinduism (also mentioned as Sanatan Dharma meaning “Eternal Order” or “Eternal Path”). The term veda means “knowledge” therein they're thought to contain the basic knowledge concerning the underlying explanation for , function of, and personal response to existence. they're considered among the oldest, if not the oldest, religious works within the planet . they're commonly mentioned as “scripture”, which is accurate therein they're going to be defined as Bible concerning the character of the Divine. Unlike the scriptures of other religions, however, the Vedas aren't thought to possess been revealed to a specific person or persons at a specific historical moment; they're believed to possess always existed and were apprehended by sages in deep meditative states at some point before c. 1500 BCE but precisely when is unknown.

The Vedas existed in oral form and were passed down from master to student for generations until they were committed to writing between c. 1500 - c. 500 BCE (the so-called Vedic Period) in India. They were carefully preserved orally as masters would have students memorize them forwards and backwards with emphasis on exact pronunciation so on stay what was originally heard intact.

The Vedas are therefore considered Shruti in Hinduism meaning “what is heard” as contrasted with other texts designated Smritis (“what is remembered”), accounts of great heroes and their struggles in works just like the Mahabharata, Ramayana, and Bhagavad Gita (although some sects of Hinduism regard the Bhagavad Gita as Shruti). The texts which structure the Four Vedas are: 

Rig Veda ( BOOK , AUDIO)
Sama Veda ( BOOK , AUDIO)
Atharva Veda ( BOOK , AUDIO)

Each of these is further divided into kinds of text included within them:

Aranyakas - rituals, observances
Brahmanas - commentaries on said rituals
Samhitas - benedictions, prayers, mantras
Upanishads – philosophical narratives and dialogues

Post a Comment